Guests at the Black Forest Inn often ask about its history. It was constructed in 1953 as a restaurant and bar with a reputation for good food and fun under the direction of owner Bernice Musekamp.
Bernice came to South Dakota in 1914, carrying a pet pigeon, a little more than the clothes on her back, and the determination to live life to the fullest.
Bernice’s original site was in the valley that is now Pactola Lake. She called her place Moosecamp Park, a variation on the spelling of her last name.
When the valley was acquired to become the Pactola Dam reservoir, Bernice moved her business, now known as the Black Forest Inn, to the existing site nestled among the pines.
The first meal served there, prepared by Bernice on her wood burning cook stove, was Easter Sunday Dinner, 1954. The lodge was an instant success; specialties included fried chicken, corn on the cob, mashed potatoes, biscuits, salads, and cake or pie. Ordinary folks and dignitaries alike came in flocks. In the 1980s the Black Forest Inn was converted to a bed and breakfast.
Each successor has continued the hospitality first exhibited by Bernice Musekamp, also adding their own special touches. There are seven graciously appointed guest rooms with private baths, antiques, handmade quilts, and a resident stuffed bear to welcome each guest.
In addition to comfortable accommodations, an all included continental breakfast will be provided for sit-down dining, to eat in your suite or take it to go.
Guests are invited to stay, relax, and enjoy the peace and serenity the beautiful Black Hills have to offer.